English as a Second Language

English as a Second Language

The Phoenixville Area School District is committed to ensuring that English language learners have equal access to a high-quality education and the opportunity to achieve their full academic potential.

Phoenixville Area School District's ESL Teachers

Phoenixville Area Early Learning Center
Kate Camarda (CamardaK@pasd.com)
Julie Miller (
MillerJ@pasd.com)

Barkley Elementary
Marypat McLaughlin (MclaughlinM@pasd.com)
Ruth Dougherty (DoughertyR@pasd.com)

Manavon Elementary
Luis Morales (MoralesL@pasd.com)

Schuylkill Elementary
Nora Sicher (SicherN@pasd.com)

Phoenixville Area Middle School
Nora Sicher (SicherN@pasd.com)
Eva Werley (
WerleyE@pasd.com)

Phoenixville Area High School
Allison Tell (TellA@pasd.com)
Beth Ulcay (
UlcayB@pasd.com)


The U.S. Departments of Education and Justice released resources to help schools in serving English learner students and parents with limited English proficiency:

  • A fact sheet in English and in other languages (see below) about schools’ obligations under federal law to ensure that English learner students can participate meaningfully and equally in school (Jan. 2015).
English download files PDF (443K) | Spanish download files PDF (271K) Chinese - Mandarin Traditional download files PDF (629K) Chinese - Mandarin Simplified download files PDF(605K) Cambodian download files PDF (541K) Hmong download files PDF (372K) Korean download files PDF (396K) Laotian download files PDF (650K) Russian download files PDF (689K) Tagalog download files PDF (437K) Vietnamese download files PDF (660K)
  • A fact sheet in English and in other languages (see below) about schools’ obligations under federal law to communicate information to limited English proficient parents in a language they can understand (Jan. 2015).
English download files PDF (547K) | Spanish download files PDF (194K) Chinese - Mandarin Traditional download files PDF (576K) Chinese - Mandarin Simplified download files PDF (559K) Cambodian download files PDF (116K) Hmong download files PDF (439K) Korean download files PDF (343K) Laotian download files PDF (484K) Russian download files PDF (573K) Tagalog download files PDF (427K) Vietnamese download files PDF (547K)
 
Notice of Language Assistance

If you have difficulty understanding English, you may, free of charge, request language assistance to help you understand the District’s documents, programs, and procedures. Please contact your child’s teacher or principal for assistance; or you may call 484-927-5006.

Aviso de Asistencia de Idiomas

Si tiene dificultades para entender inglés, usted puede, de forma gratuita, solicitar asistencia con el idioma para ayudarle a comprender los documentos, programas y procedimientos del Distrito. Por favor, comuníquese con el maestro o director de su hijo para recibir asistencia; o bien puede llamar al 484-927-5006.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.